MusicNOW: Break Away
Harris Theater for Music and Dance
205 E. Randolph
Chicago, IL 60601
May 20, 2019

Julius Eastman, Meredith Monk and Jessie Montgomery, three brilliant composers, have all worked with improvisation, open scoring and spontanaeity in very different and personal ways. New arrangements of Julius Eastman’s Joy Boy and Gay Guerrilla and Meredith Monk’s Passage and What Does It Mean? receive their world premieres. Jessie Montgomery’s quartet Break Away calls on musicians to play with and “break away” from the score, making each performance unique.

MusicNOW offers an immersive, sonic journey through groundbreaking repertoire. Join us for a program of expertly curated contemporary music featuring new commissions and multimedia works performed by musicians of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Each evening includes a postconcert reception with free food and drink.

Connect With Us:

Send this to a friend