WPMT Presents: Classic Musicals from the Golden Age of Radio
Online
Online
Online
Online
Online
Virtual
Runs Sep 29Oct 27, 2020

Debuting this past summer and continuing into fall is Porchlight’s WPMT PRESENTS: Classic Musicals from the Golden Age of Radio. Artistic Director Michael Weber introduces musicals from the early to mid 20th century as they were heard on network radio programs such as The Lux Radio Theatre and The Theatre Guild on the Air, often featuring members of the original Broadway casts. A bonus feature to some of the series’ episodes are special guests joining Weber in conversation about that day’s broadcast. Past guests have included Mitchell J. Fain (discussing Strike Up the Band) and Christie Chiles Twillie (discussing Carmen Jones).

Tuesday, Sept. 22: WPMT PRESENTS: High Button Shoes
Tuesday, Sept. 29: WPMT PRESENTS: Girl Crazy with special guest playwright/lyricist Stephen Cole
Tuesday, Oct. 6: WPMT PRESENTS: A Connecticut Yankee
Tuesday, Oct. 13: WPMT PRESENTS: This is the Army
Tuesday, Oct. 20: WPMT PRESENTS: Lady Be Good
Tuesday, Oct. 27: WPMT PRESENTS: Phantom of the Opera with special guest, Chicago actor/playwright/teacher Tom Mula
Tuesday, Nov 10: WPMT PRESENTS: The Student Prince
Tuesday, Nov 17: WPMT PRESENTS: Allegro
Tuesday, Nov 24: WPMT PRESENTS: Holiday Inn
Tuesday, Dec 1: WPMT PRESENTS: Maytime
Tuesday, Dec 8: WPMT PRESENTS: The Lemon Drop Kid
Tuesday, Dec 15: WPMT PRESENTS: Babes in Toyland
Tuesday, Dec 22: WPMT PRESENTS: Meet Me in St. Louis
Tuesday, Dec 29: WPMT PRESENTS: On Your Toes

Connect With Us:
Send this to a friend