Find A Show

Find Touch Tours, ASL-Interpreted, Audio-Described, Open-Captioned and Autism-Friendly performances on our Access calendar.

Find Accessible Performances

Ovation Academy for the Performing Arts
Ovation Academy Virtual Classes: Broadway Kids
Children's/Family, Online Classes, Virtual
Jan 24, 2021

Class meets weekly through March 7, 2021 Let your little star shine on the big stage in this introductory exploration of musical theatre! Through the pages of Broadway’s biggest …

11:00AM Sun, Jan 24, 2021
Shakes@Home
Children's/Family, Online Classes, Virtual
Runs Apr 24, 2020 - Jan 31, 2021

Whether you’re teaching remotely or looking for a fun activity for the family this weekend, we’ve got you covered. Explore education tools, centuries of critical thinking, artistic interpretation, …

11:00AM Sun, Jan 24, 2021
11:00AM Mon, Jan 25, 2021
11:00AM Tue, Jan 26, 2021
11:00AM Wed, Jan 27, 2021
11:00AM Thu, Jan 28, 2021
11:00AM Fri, Jan 29, 2021
11:00AM Sat, Jan 30, 2021
11:00AM Sun, Jan 31, 2021
Winter: Fantasy Makeup Comes to Life
(AGES 10-14)
Children's/Family, Online Classes
Runs Jan 12 - Feb 02, 2021

Sure, the detailed makeup transformations you see in movies are often achieved using hours of professional products and CGI. But guess what? There are tons of convincing illusions …

4:00PM Tue, Jan 26, 2021
4:00PM Tue, Feb 02, 2021
Winter: In a World...
(AGES 7-9)
Children's/Family, Online Classes, Virtual
Runs Jan 12 - Feb 02, 2021

We wanted to make a movie in only 8 weeks — but that’s a bit of a stretch, even for us. So instead, we’ll make a movie trailer! …

4:00PM Tue, Jan 26, 2021
4:00PM Tue, Feb 02, 2021
Level 2: Realistic Characters and Relationships
Online Classes
Runs Dec 15, 2020 - Feb 13, 2021

Prerequisites: Level 1 or instructor permission Students will focus on developing rich, three-dimensional characters with multiple facets. Personal experience and other sources will help them to develop characters with …

6:00PM Tue, Jan 26, 2021
12:00PM Sat, Jan 30, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Feb 02, 2021
12:00PM Sat, Feb 06, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Feb 09, 2021
12:00PM Sat, Feb 13, 2021
Winter: League of Adventure
(AGES 11-15)
Children's/Family, Online Classes
Runs Jan 13 - Feb 03, 2021

Mudlark’s beloved tabletop role-playing game has been thriving in the virtual realm! Part D&D-style campaign and part improv class, the League invites a group of young adventurers to …

4:00PM Wed, Jan 27, 2021
4:00PM Wed, Feb 03, 2021
Playwriting Fundamentals
Online Classes
Runs Jan 13 - Feb 24, 2021

Looking to kick off your playwriting career?  Get started with “Playwriting Fundamentals,” at Chicago Dramatists!  Study the core essentials of writing your first play, and cover everything from …

6:00PM Wed, Jan 27, 2021
6:00PM Wed, Feb 03, 2021
6:00PM Wed, Feb 10, 2021
6:00PM Wed, Feb 17, 2021
6:00PM Wed, Feb 24, 2021
“Scene Shop” Play Development (Thurs.)
Online Classes
Runs Jan 21 - Mar 18, 2021

Self-contained weekly sessions offer character, scene, and story tools to help you write and revise your script, professional actors to read the work you bring from home, and …

6:30PM Thu, Jan 28, 2021
6:30PM Thu, Feb 04, 2021
6:30PM Thu, Feb 11, 2021
6:30PM Thu, Feb 18, 2021
6:30PM Thu, Feb 25, 2021
6:30PM Thu, Mar 04, 2021
6:30PM Thu, Mar 11, 2021
6:30PM Thu, Mar 18, 2021
“Scene Shop” Play Development (Sat.)
Online Classes
Runs Jan 23 - Mar 20, 2021

Self-contained weekly sessions offer character, scene, and story tools to help you write and revise your script, professional actors to read the work you bring from home, and …

10:00AM Sat, Jan 30, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Feb 06, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Feb 13, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Feb 20, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Feb 27, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Mar 06, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Mar 13, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Mar 20, 2021
Secret Life of the American Musical
Online Classes
Runs Jan 16 - Feb 20, 2021

Musical theatre is one of the most lively and complex forms of theatrical storytelling. This course offers participants a big picture perspective on the elements of structure and …

10:00AM Sat, Jan 30, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Feb 06, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Feb 13, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Feb 20, 2021
The Jackalope Playwrights Lab
Online Classes, Virtual
Runs Jan 09 - Feb 27, 2021

This eight-week writing intensive is designed for a class of 8 writers interested in developing new, full-length plays through a workshop development process, and meets virtually on Saturdays 10:00am-2:00pm on Zoom.

10:00AM Sat, Jan 30, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Feb 06, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Feb 13, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Feb 20, 2021
10:00AM Sat, Feb 27, 2021
Angels & Devils – Virtue & Vice: Solo Show & Story
Online Classes
Runs Feb 02 - Mar 16, 2021

This workshop is designed for storytellers, actors, solo artists and playwrights of all levels – who want to work on the development of a one person show or …

6:00PM Tue, Feb 02, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Feb 09, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Feb 16, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Feb 23, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Mar 02, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Mar 09, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Mar 16, 2021
Intermediate Playwriting
Online Classes
Runs Feb 04 - Mar 18, 2021

This course is designed to develop the writer’s individual theatrical style through writing a One-Act play.  Through the practice of writing and investigating plays, students will learn the …

6:00PM Thu, Feb 04, 2021
6:00PM Thu, Feb 11, 2021
6:00PM Thu, Feb 18, 2021
6:00PM Thu, Feb 25, 2021
6:00PM Thu, Mar 04, 2021
6:00PM Thu, Mar 11, 2021
6:00PM Thu, Mar 18, 2021
Broadway Basics
Ages 7–10
Children's/Family, Online Classes
Runs Feb 06 - May 01, 2021

Enter the world of music, drama, dance, writing, and more while practicing teamwork, communication, and problem-solving. Actors will be introduced to their actor tools, with lots of time …

11:30AM Sat, Feb 06, 2021
11:30AM Sat, Feb 13, 2021
11:30AM Sat, Feb 20, 2021
11:30AM Sat, Feb 27, 2021
11:30AM Sat, Mar 06, 2021
11:30AM Sat, Mar 13, 2021
11:30AM Sat, Mar 20, 2021
11:30AM Sat, Mar 27, 2021
11:30AM Sat, Apr 10, 2021
11:30AM Sat, Apr 17, 2021
11:30AM Sat, Apr 24, 2021
11:30AM Sat, May 01, 2021
Music Theatre Bootcamp
Ages 11–13
Children's/Family, Online Classes
Runs Feb 06 - May 01, 2021

Intermediate actors build on the basics to learn about building an ensemble, singing in harmony, and creating more challenging characters. Actors will write their own story paired with …

1:00PM Sat, Feb 06, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Feb 13, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Feb 20, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Feb 27, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Mar 06, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Mar 13, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Mar 20, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Mar 27, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Apr 10, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Apr 17, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Apr 24, 2021
1:00PM Sat, May 01, 2021
Romantic Comedy!
Online Classes
Runs Feb 06 - Mar 20, 2021

For screenwriters, playwrights, or teleplay writers, this is a class about the romance and comedy of searching for love, falling in love, being in love, staying in love…and …

6:00PM Sat, Feb 06, 2021
6:00PM Sat, Feb 13, 2021
6:00PM Sat, Feb 20, 2021
6:00PM Sat, Feb 27, 2021
6:00PM Sat, Mar 06, 2021
6:00PM Sat, Mar 13, 2021
6:00PM Sat, Mar 20, 2021
Writing and Performance for the Internet
Online Classes
Runs Feb 10 - Mar 24, 2021

Explore the capabilities of Zoom, Instagram, and other platforms, to create new performances and plays designed specifically for this vibrant and invigorating time. Students will study aspects of …

6:00PM Wed, Feb 10, 2021
6:00PM Wed, Feb 17, 2021
6:00PM Wed, Feb 24, 2021
6:00PM Wed, Mar 03, 2021
6:00PM Wed, Mar 10, 2021
6:00PM Wed, Mar 17, 2021
6:00PM Wed, Mar 24, 2021
Level 3: Improv as Writing
Online Classes
Runs Feb 16 - Mar 30, 2021

Prerequisites: Level 2 or instructor permission Students will focus on treating their improvised scenes like they were fully scripted. They will learn tools that focus on compelling language, storytelling, …

6:00PM Tue, Feb 16, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Feb 23, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Mar 02, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Mar 09, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Mar 16, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Mar 23, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Mar 30, 2021
Memoir Theatre
Online Classes
Runs Feb 20 - Apr 10, 2021

Memoir Theatre:  Writing the stories of our lives. Students will play writing games to unearth  what you care about, what enrages you, what hurt you, what shamed you, …

1:00PM Sat, Feb 20, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Feb 27, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Mar 06, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Mar 13, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Mar 20, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Mar 27, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Apr 03, 2021
1:00PM Sat, Apr 10, 2021
Ten Minute Play
Online Classes
Runs Mar 02 - Apr 13, 2021

How do you tell a complete and satisfying story in only ten minutes? This class, offered exclusively to Network Members is a deep dive into the intricacies and …

6:00PM Tue, Mar 02, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Mar 09, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Mar 16, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Mar 23, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Mar 30, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Apr 06, 2021
6:00PM Tue, Apr 13, 2021
Ovation Academy for the Performing Arts presents
Ovation Academy Virtual Classes: Improv Playhouse
a 7-week virtual class
Online Classes
Runs Jan 21 - Mar 04, 2021

Class meets weekly January 21 – March 4, Thursdays from 3:30-4:30pm Ages 9-13 A highly interactive introduction to the art of improvisation. Have fun creating scenes, characters and hilarious moments …

3:30PM Thu, Mar 04, 2021
$25/class
Telling Your Truth
Online Classes
Runs Mar 04 - Apr 15, 2021

This free class is being offered as a part of our initiative to combat racism, and stand alongside those who are fighting for social justice and against racial …

6:00PM Thu, Mar 04, 2021
6:00PM Thu, Mar 11, 2021
6:00PM Thu, Mar 18, 2021
6:00PM Thu, Mar 25, 2021
6:00PM Thu, Apr 01, 2021
6:00PM Thu, Apr 08, 2021
6:00PM Thu, Apr 15, 2021
Ovation Academy for the Performing Arts presents
Winter 2021 Performing Arts Classes
Online Classes
Runs Jan 18 - Mar 07, 2021
Ovation Academy for the Performing Arts offers training in Voice, Dance, Tap, Improv, Acting and much more! Enrollment is open now for our January-March 2021 session. Visit www.ovationacademy.org to learn more or register.
7:30PM Sun, Mar 07, 2021
from $$25/class
Advanced Playwriting
Online Classes
Runs Mar 27 - May 15, 2021

In this class, you will pitch, outline, and write a long one-act or full-length play. You will add new tools to your writing toolbox that will help you …

10:00PM Sat, Mar 27, 2021
10:00PM Sat, Apr 03, 2021
10:00PM Sat, Apr 10, 2021
10:00PM Sat, Apr 17, 2021
10:00PM Sat, Apr 24, 2021
10:00PM Sat, May 01, 2021
10:00PM Sat, May 08, 2021
10:00PM Sat, May 15, 2021

Connect With Us:
Send this to a friend