New Philharmonic presents A Salute to Frida

New Philharmonic presents A Salute to Frida

McAninch Arts Center

Conducted by Maestro Kirk Muspratt
Michelle Areyzaga: Soprano
Jesse Donner: Tenor
Ben Bogart: Bandoneon

Celebrate the heritage of Frida Kahlo through the rhythm and sounds of Mexico, in anticipation of the major exhibit of her works to be held right here at the MAC in June 2021. Selection of works by Mexican born composers include the beautiful melodies of Agustin Lara’s Granada and the intoxicating and percussive dance rhythms of Arturo Marquez’s Danzon and Silvestre Revueltas Sanchez’ Noche de los Mayas (Night of the Maya). Concluding our musical journey into the Latin American sounds of Frida Kahlo’s world, film composer Luis Bacalov’s Misa Tango sets the traditional mass to the dance rhythms of the tango. This work features soprano and tenor vocalists, a 90-voice chorus, as well as the bandoneon accordion known for riving the sultry sound of the tango.

Purchase Tickets Online

  • May 31 - June 15 - View Anytime

    Price: $25.25
  • $0.00
  • American Express
    Supported Credit Cards: American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa


Individual tickets are $25.25 including fees through Hot Tix.
Regular Price: $40

For international purchases, please call (312)977-9483 Monday-Saturday 9am-5pm or Sunday 10am-4pm.

Connect With Us:
Send this to a friend