Storefront Playwright Project

In the Storefront
Playwright Project, emerging and established playwrights will take center stage in a window space at Expo 72 to work on a current writing project in view of the public. From a large screen in a window facing the sidewalk, the public will be able to read what the playwright is writing and watch the creation of the next great Chicago play in real time.

The Storefront Playwright Project will take place during Chicago Theatre Week at Expo72 located at 72 E. Randolph St. in downtown Chicago, February 11 - 16, 2014, Tuesday through Saturday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Sunday from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Chicago has a distinguished history and is a leader in producing and presenting new plays. Chicago’s dynamic theatre community has long been an incubator for talent, having fostered countless nationally recognized playwrights. Each year Chicago theatres export new work to theatres across the country, to Broadway, and around the world.

The Storefront Playwright Project aims to support the playwriting community, increase awareness of emerging and established playwrights, and encourage audiences to engage more deeply with Chicago theatre and the creative process of writing a new play for the theatre.
The Storefront Playwright Project is being done in collaboration with the City of Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events.

Click here to see a full schedule of participating playwrights!

Follow the Storefront Playwright Project on Tumblr. Use the hashtag #playwrightinawindow on Twitter and Instagram.

The League of Chicago Theatres’ Storefront Playwright Project is based uponWrite Out Front: A Playwright Happening, created by playwright Micheline Auger. Write Out Front was held at New York’s Drama Bookshop, from August 13 to September 1, 2012, and hosted 71 playwrights, over the three-week/142-hour period.

Participating Playwrights Include:

Brooke Allen
Randall Colburn

Bilal Dardai
Philip Dawkins
Reginald Edmund
Ike Holter
Susan Lieberman
Brett Neveu
Skye Robinson Hillis
Jessy Lauren Smith

Regina Taylor